276°
Posted 20 hours ago

Broken Hearts & Zombie Parts

£4.495£8.99Clearance
ZTS2023's avatar
Shared by
ZTS2023
Joined in 2023
82
63

About this deal

The problem is, he has a heart condition that will put him under a knife in 2 months, so time is of the essence. The characters were great and lovely, the start of the book was very good and the writing was alright! The book definitely captured the fears of being a teenager and how certain things lose their importance when you are facing open heart surgery. Which sounds a little weird maybe, seeing as the book deals with the MC's upcoming open heart surgery, but the book doesn't feel heavy at all. He's clearly a fan of cinema, which is demonstrated in the main thrust of the plot, but the main character also has the same heart condition as the author, which gives us a great insight into what it must be like and the worries and concerns that someone living with this condition must experience.

Jesse Spark hat in wenigen Wochen eine Operation am offenen Herzen, die eine große Narbe auf seiner Brust hinterlassen wird. I found the “jokes” to be forced and completely uneeded , Like the whole sex dungeon thing at the beginning …. Before filming even begins Jesse has heart complications after witnessing his best friend Cas kissing someone that isn’t his girlfriend, being caught and then threatened by the girlfriends brother.

As someone who has experienced open heart surgery at the very same age that our main character, Jesse, is, I can say without a doubt that this book literally opened my chest back up and looked at my heart before writing it all down on a page.

Together with his childhood friends and new love interests he will try to juggle directing a movie, trying to find a boyfriend, the idea of heart surgery and the simple stress of being a teenager. It was so clever and so effective, especially knowing that it was directly from the author's own emotional experience. Even that little "mystery" was so well developed, that it made me want to pick up Hussey's mystery novels. The mortality issue is very well dealt with and refreshing to find in the queer YA genre - it's been overlooked and William Hussey opens the theme up well.

A funny, fresh and authentic LGBTQ+ romance for fans of Heartstopper and Sex Education (with fake zombies! Although some serious themes were dealt with in this story—such as body image, internalised homophobia, bullying, death of a parent (past tense), to name a few—the overall tone of the story was upbeat and full of heart-warming and humorous moments that both charmed and amused. My one gripe is that there is some miscommunication which went on for too long and I found a bit annoying, but it didn't take too much away from my enjoyment.

Asda Great Deal

Free UK shipping. 15 day free returns.
Community Updates
*So you can easily identify outgoing links on our site, we've marked them with an "*" symbol. Links on our site are monetised, but this never affects which deals get posted. Find more info in our FAQs and About Us page.
New Comment